Google Meet People List

return to Google Meet home page  |  Security  |  Chat  |  People List  |  Audio Video  |  Screen Sharing  |  WhiteboardBreakout Rooms 

peopleGoogle Meet allows you to start a virtual meeting using a variety of methods. Each method has its own considerations, depending on the invitee.  Are you scheduling a meeting only for students in your Google Classroom? For colleagues in district, using Google Calendar? Or are you thinking about including outside guests who are not members of your Google Educational environment? Regardless of your method, monitoring and managing participants properly will ensure a positive experience for both hosts and your guests.

 Features & Functions Features & Functions

How to Add People to a Video Meeting

As the meeting Host, you can invite and remove participants  during a video meeting. To invite people outside of your organization who haven’t already been added to a Calendar event, someone from your organization must first give them access to the meeting.

Choose an option:

  1. Add people.
  2. Enter names or email addresses and click Send Invite.

OR

  1. In the bottom left corner, click the meeting name.
  2. Click Copy joining info.
  3. Paste the meeting details into an email, or other app, and send it to the person.

     join info 

Removing Participants from a Meet

Note: You need to be in the same organization as the meeting organizer to remove someone from a video meeting. 

  1. On the right, go to People.
  2. Point to the person, and then click Back arrow.
  3. Click Remove.

Disconnecting a Participant via Phone

  1. Click People to expand the side panel.
  2. Select the phone number, click the Down arrow.
  3. End call.

Approving "Requests to Join"

During a video meeting, only the meeting creator can see and approve requests to join the meeting from outside of the school’s G Suite domain.

If a teacher creates a meeting and wants to include guests with an email address that’s outside of their school domain, make sure they stay on the call until all external guests have been approved to join.

Tips   Teaching Tips

Before You Start a Meet, Ensure the Following

  • Is everyone you expect present and accounted for?  
  • If you are expecting participants outside your domain or organization, have you approved the requests to join?  
  • Familiarize yourself with the icons in the participant window. You can:  
    • PIN a participant  
    • MUTE a participant  
    • REMOVE a participant   

Google Meet automatically switches the layout in a video meeting to display the most active content and participants. If you join a meeting on a computer, you can switch to a different layout if you want. You can Change Your View. In the lower-right corner of the Meet screen, click More > Change Layout and select the option that best serves the meeting needs.

 change layout  

Auto – Allows Meet to choose the layout for you. 

Tiled – Shows up to 16 people (NEW) when there is no presentation.

  • Move your mouse to see participant names. 
  • If a new person joins after the meeting starts, they are added to the bottom of the screen. 
  • Presentations are shown in a large tile, with the most active participants to the side.  

Spotlight – The presentation, active speaker, or pinned feed fills the window.  

Sidebar – You see the active speaker or presentation with additional participants on the side.

New Feature

Tiled layout for larger calls: The expanded tiled layout now lets web users simultaneously see up to 16 participants at once (previously, tiled layouts only enabled you to see four people at a time). More updates are coming for larger meetings, better presentation layouts, and support across more devices.

Coming Soon: Google Meet updates will soon include…

Low-light mode: Meet can now use AI to automatically adjust your video to make you more visible to other participants in sub-optimal lighting conditions. This feature is currently rolling out to mobile users, and will be available to web users in the future.